Skip to content
Wigan Counts — Wigan, in numbers.Local help →

Wigan, in numbers

Projects

Wigan council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Leigh

Leigh Civic Square renewal

Improvement works were complete ahead of a planned public unveiling, with new surfaces, seating and lighting.

Works completed; unveiling announced · evidence dated 2026-09-07

Responsible body: Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

New and improved Civic Square set to be unveiled in Leigh →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use Leigh’s renewed square beyond special events →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Leigh

Leigh Market refurbishment

Refurbishment of the market building was planned for 2027 alongside shopfront improvements.

Planned refurbishment; not complete · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Leigh Regeneration Project →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Leigh Market still needs building work →

Maintain local trade while major sites change →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Wigan town centre

Fettlers at the former Galleries

The council and Cityheart are redeveloping the former shopping centre for homes, workspaces, hospitality and leisure.

Regeneration programme; individual completion stages not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

The Galleries redevelopment →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Give Wigan’s centre more reasons for repeat visits →

Maintain local trade while major sites change →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →