Skip to content
Wigan Counts — Wigan, in numbers.Local help →

Wigan, in numbers

People and living standards

Wigan council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Wigan council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 305,582 in 1991 to 347,089 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Wigan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 302,619 people in 1996; 347,089 people in 2025. 14.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991305,582
1992306,201
1993305,892
1994304,994
1995303,717
1996302,619
1997302,058
1998301,728
1999301,989
2000301,985
2001301,453
2002302,305
2003303,846
2004304,958
2005306,143
2006308,023
2007309,403
2008311,971
2009314,363
2010316,296
2011318,122
2012318,109
2013318,737
2014320,075
2015320,864
2016321,494
2017322,485
2018323,904
2019326,386
2020327,850
2021329,796
2022334,538
2023339,755
2024344,245
2025347,089
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Wigan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 63,840 people in 1996; 63,014 people in 2025. 1.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199163,978
199264,517
199364,873
199464,969
199564,501
199663,840
199763,473
199862,802
199962,893
200062,513
200161,685
200261,236
200360,806
200460,419
200560,123
200659,834
200759,401
200859,508
200959,659
201059,663
201159,917
201259,621
201359,531
201459,844
201559,767
201659,852
201759,951
201860,204
201960,624
202060,675
202160,528
202261,478
202362,587
202463,149
202563,014
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Wigan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 195,837 people in 1996; 216,374 people in 2025. 10.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991198,592
1992198,431
1993197,765
1994196,999
1995196,305
1996195,837
1997195,522
1998195,810
1999196,080
2000196,205
2001196,289
2002197,282
2003198,690
2004199,604
2005200,410
2006202,007
2007203,012
2008204,223
2009205,095
2010205,758
2011206,164
2012204,020
2013202,949
2014202,117
2015201,658
2016201,253
2017201,524
2018201,996
2019202,981
2020203,920
2021205,285
2022208,207
2023211,571
2024214,473
2025216,374
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Wigan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 42,942 people in 1996; 67,701 people in 2025. 57.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,012
199243,253
199343,254
199443,026
199542,911
199642,942
199743,063
199843,116
199943,016
200043,267
200143,479
200243,787
200344,350
200444,935
200545,610
200646,182
200746,990
200848,240
200949,609
201050,875
201152,041
201254,468
201356,257
201458,114
201559,439
201660,389
201761,010
201861,704
201962,781
202063,255
202163,983
202264,853
202365,597
202466,623
202567,701
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 329,330 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wigan · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5,8261.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,9071.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,3531.3%
White312,95295%
Other ethnic group2,2920.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 317,849 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wigan · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White309,19397.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,7560.9%
Asian/Asian British3,5191.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,6780.5%
Other ethnic group7030.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 301,415 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wigan · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White297,50698.7%
Mixed1,2980.4%
Asian/Asian British1,3260.4%
Black/Black British5390.2%
Chinese/Other7460.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Wigan council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,545 per person in 1997; £20,587 per person in 2024. 115.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,545
19989,604
199910,160
200010,588
200111,012
200211,175
200311,525
200411,876
200512,135
200612,588
200713,053
200813,130
200913,543
201013,589
201113,699
201214,273
201314,650
201414,910
201515,063
201615,098
201715,740
201816,115
201916,723
202016,954
202117,330
202217,979
202319,313
202420,587
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Wigan council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -10% in 1997; -20.7% in 2024. 10.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Wigan council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-10
1998-11.3
1999-10.2
2000-11
2001-11
2002-11.7
2003-11.6
2004-12.5
2005-13.7
2006-14
2007-14.9
2008-16.6
2009-15.4
2010-15.9
2011-15.9
2012-15.5
2013-16.4
2014-17.5
2015-20.8
2016-21.6
2017-20.1
2018-21
2019-20.6
2020-19.2
2021-20.7
2022-21.7
2023-21
2024-20.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.6%

21 March 2021 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.1%

21 March 2021 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£195,000

July 2026 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£746

August 2026 · Wigan council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.